Monday, November 24, 2008

How to do laundry... learning by accident

so after years of doing my own laundry, i learned something new a few weeks ago.

now some background on my laundry history. some of you know that I can be a bit of a penny pincher sometimes so I try to cram as much as I can into each load for the washer and dryer. also I absolutely HATE ironing, in fact, i do not even own an iron.

Normally, some of my clothes come out wrinkled and im like... damn that sucks, but i wear it anyways to work since its not a big deal to me. one time i didn't have that much laundry to do, but had too much for one dryer (even for my standards of stuffing it), but seemed too little for two. Eventually, I did suck it up and spent another $1 to split it into two loads, but then I had another dilemma, if I put it at normal temperatures, it would be way too hot (you see they raised the price from 75 cents to $1, although they give you the extra 16 minutes for the quarter upping it from 48 to 64, it is quite a long time to have clothes exposed to that much heat), so I decided to put it on delicate.

So I go watch some tv while waiting for it to be done and to my surprise, when I went to get my laundry, stuff that would normally have wrinkles did not. WOOHOO, so my lesson learned... spend a couple extra bucks and dont stuff the washer or dryer. or maybe I should just hang dry everything, it would save me money and be more 'green'... hmmm something to think about.

No comments: